Racine Yacht Club Presents



2021

Notice of Race

The 38th *Consecutive Running* of the HOOK Race July 24, 2021

Racine to Menominee Municipal Marina, MI

Featuring a Spinnaker Fleet for all LMPHRF rated Yachts, including those that are sailed Double and Single Handed, One Design (5 boats to create a section), ...and our motorized Cruising Fleet.

Notice and Conditions of Race

1.0 Organizing Authority

The Racine Yacht Club HOOK Committee (RYCHC) shall represent the Racine Yacht Club as the Organizing Authority of the Hook Race.

2.0 Rules

- 2.1 The HOOK Race shall be governed by the rules as defined in the current Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS).
- **2.2** The Racing Rules will be modified as follows:
 - (a) If there is a conflict between this notice and the Sailing Instructions, the latter will take precedence. This changes Rule 63.7

3.0 Eligibility, Equipment and Entry

- 3.1 Yachts shall be at least 24 feet in length on deck. Yachts under 24 feet must receive HOOK Chair approval.
- 3.2 Yachts can register for the Spinnaker Fleet, One Design or the Cruising Fleet.
- The Race Committee shall have full authority to determine the suitability of any yacht for entry in any fleet, and may divide any fleet into divisions at its discretion.
- 3.4 The Organizing Authority may exclude a specific yacht from the HOOK Race by invoking Rule 76 of the Racing Rules of Sailing (Exclusion of Boats or Competitors) if it determines that the yacht would incur a safety risk by participating.
- **3.5** Entry Documentation shall include the following:
 - (a) A completed entry form including the Waiver and Release of Liability signed by the Skipper, or Person In Charge (PIC), who is 18 years or older.
 - (b) Entry is not complete until the Organizing Authority receives a Waiver of Release of Liability signed by each skipper and crew member. Skipper and crew waivers shall be submitted no later than at check in. All waivers can be downloaded online on the event web site at www.racineyachtclub.org. In the event of a crew member substitution or addition after completed registration, the crew member must submit a Waiver of Release of Liability prior to racing for that boat's entry to remain valid.
 - (c) Each yacht sailing in the One Design or Spinnaker Fleet (Monohull and Multihull) shall provide a valid 2021 LMPHRF Certificate, signed by the Skipper before their registration is valid prior to the entry deadline of July 17, 2021. If a yacht's LMPHRF Certificate is not received by the deadline they can sail in the Cruising Fleet, but not the One Design or Spinnaker Fleet.
 - (d) Each yacht shall provide a current certificate of insurance with a minimum of \$300,000 liability coverage.
 - (e) The appropriate entry fee:

\$ 240 if entry paid by March 31, 2021

\$ 355 if entry paid on or after April 1, 2021

Registration will be limited to 115 entries. NO entries will be accepted after July 17, 2021

Registration and payment shall be made online at: https://yachtscoring.com

(f) Cancellation Refund Policy

No Refunds will be made after June 1, 2021

Refund requests by June 1, 2021 will be half the entry fee.

In the event Racine Yacht Club cancels the Hook Race, a full refund of the 2021 entry fee will be issued.

4.0 Schedule of Events at Racine Yacht Club

Friday July 23, 2021 1200 to 2000 - Check-in 1700 - Live Music and Rum Party at RYC

Saturday July 24, 2021 0630 to 0800 - Late check-in 0700 to 1000. -Breakfast -take out

5.0 Schedule of Events at Menominee Mi

Monday July 26, 2021

1500 - Rum Party and Live Music

1700 - Awards (Presentation hour subject to finishing times.)

6.0 Race

Saturday, July 24, 2021 Cruising Fleet First Warning at 0830 hours Spinnaker Fleet First Warning at 0855 hours

7.0 Sailing Instructions

Sailing Instructions shall be distributed at check-in.

8.0 Course

Racine to Menominee, MI via the Porte Des Morts Passage as described in the Sailing Instructions.

9.0 Scoring

Each yacht shall be scored in the One design and Spinnaker Fleet using the LMPHRF Distance Handicap Time on Distance, expressed in nautical miles. The handicap distance for scoring purposes shall be 189 nautical miles. Note: Multihulls may compete in their own division but will not be scored for an overall award. Each Yacht shall be scored in the Cruising Fleet using the Portsmouth scoring tabulation system and conditions as specified in the Cruising Fleet Sailing Instructions.

10.0 Awards

Flags will be presented in Menominee MI at the conclusion of the race. Trophies will be presented at the RYC Annual Awards Dinner.

11.0 Safety Equipment and Special Regulations

- 11.1 All Yachts shall abide by the HOOK Race Safety Conditions and Regulations which will be posted on the RYC HOOK web site.
- 11.2 All yachts must carry on board a SPOT Tracker, InReach or Garmin that must be on to be tracked. Tracking information must be provided to the organizing authority at or before check-in. Yachts must keep tracker active for the entirety of the race. More information to be found at http://wp.kattack.com/supported-trackers SPOT2

12.0 Disclaimer of Liability

All participants (Skippers, Crew Members, Associated Persons) participate in the HOOK Race entirely at their own risk. See Rule 3, Decision to Race. The Organizing Authority will not accept any liability for property damage or personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with, prior to, during, or after the race.

13.0 Additional information

Docking and accommodation information in Racine and Marinette/Menominee will be included with each contestant's entry acknowledgement letter. For additional information, please contact:

- Racine Yacht Club Hook Race hookregistration@racineyachtclub.org
- Web site: www.racineyachtclub.org
- The HOOK Race Safety Conditions and Regulations are available at our website.
- Ed Palladino and Fred Stritt, HOOK Committee Co-Chairmen, hookchair@racineyachtclub.org
- Hook Race Officials:

Racine Yacht Club Commodore: Amy Cermak HOOK Race Committee Co Chairmen: Ed Palladino & Fred Stritt Racine Yacht Club Race Director: Steve Gancarz

THE HOOK

Overall

2020	Madcap	Santa Cruz 52	John and Marion Hoskins
2019	Runaway	J-92	Mark Wessel
2018	Audacity	Beneteau First 40	Mike Laing
2017	Hasten	C&C 41	Fred Stritt
2016	Heat Wave	Dehler DB1	Jeremy Burns
2015	Twister	Du Bois 50	Herbert Wake
2014	Windlassie	Irwin 33-2 Sloop	Jim Strouf
2013	Big Meanie	Beneteau 42s7	James Prendergast
2012	Thunder	Peterson 34	Stuart Keys
2011	Sojourner	Tartan 372	David Pollock
2010	Rogue	Nelson Marek 36	Peter Engel
2009	Flash Gordon	Tripp 33	Mitch Hubert
2008	Assassin	Soverel 33	Susan Just
2007	Sirocco	C&C 33	Doug Vaccarello
2006	Blue Tango	Nelson Marek 39	Rick Trisco
2005	Syrena	B-32	Nicholas and Angela Hayes
2004	Syrena	B-32	Nicholas and Angela Hayes
2003	Lionheart	Tartan 4100	Steve Roake
2002	Sabotage	J35	Ray Sabinash
2001	Uber Alles	Rancher 41	Gerhardt Knop
2000	Surface Tension	Nelson Marek 36	Brethorst /Schaefer
1999	Zippy	J92	Spencer Thomason
1998	Kinky II	PJ 34	James Murphy
1997	Zephyr	Pearson 31	John Chelius
1996	Siren Song	Peterson 41	Tom and Lisa Merlin
1995	Siren Song	Peterson 41	Tom and Lisa Merlin
1994	Siren Song	Peterson 41	Tom and Lisa Merlin
1993	Rainbow	Ranger 26	Duke and Mary Rahmel
1992	Falcon	Q-Boat	David Pappas
1991	Arbitrage	X 1-Ton	Ron McNeilly
1990	Falcon	Q-Boat	David Pappas
1989	Slot Machine	Heritage 1-Ton	Dr. C.W. Christenson
1988	Rainbow	Ranger 26	Duke and Mary Rahmel
1987	TARDIS	Cal 43	TARDIS Syndicate
1986	Latest Trick	Olson 911s	Dave Morrow
1985	Blue Chip	Peterson 34	Gary Neale
1984	Vamoose	Custom Columbia 33	Les Grebetz